Originally a 14th. century domestic dwelling and probably the manor house of Trevena, the Old Post Office is thought to have been rebuilt in the early 16th. century. Built almost entirely of local stone and characterised by its stepped slate chimney stacks and undulating slate roof, the building served as Tintagels Post Office from 1844 until 1892 before which all post had to be brought from Camelford by foot-messenger. Two large buttresses were built at the rear of the building in 1896 and in 1953 in order to prevent the rear wall collapsing under the weight of the roof. In 1900 the Old Post Office was purchased by the National Trust for the princely sum of one hundred pounds. The Trust have gradually set about re-creating the Victorian post-room and furnishing the interior with authentic items from local farmhouses and cottages.Of particular interest are the stoneflagged floors and spiral staircase leading to an upstairs bedroom which boasts a rare example of an early 18th. century oak bed from a farmhouse on Bodmin Moor.