Surrounded by green fields and moorland, this little 14th. century church at Towednack is probably best known for its having featured in the BBC TV's "Poldark" series and later in the film "Penmarric". The church is characterised by its short stunted tower. Built in 1500, legend has it that once the tower had reached its present height, subsequent building work as was carried out during the day was destroyed by the devil during the hours of darkness. In due course, the frustrated stone-masons abandoned their task and hence there are no pinnacles on this particular tower - a feature that makes it unique in Penwith. The church has an ancient stone altar bearing five incised crosses. It was retrieved from the wall of a nearby farm and restored to church use in the 1930's. It was believed to have been thrown out at the Reformation when law decreed that all altars should be made of wood.